edubya32

Reaction score
Military
Navy Vet
Current Ride
2023 Tremor 3.5EB | 402A | Torsen
Current Ride #2
2021 BMW X5 X40i
Towing noob here - I'm renting a small travel trailer soon, and so I've set it up in my truck based on specs (Amerilite 199DD). It's all fairly straight forward but I'm not sure on what Trailer Brake Type I should input into the system:

Default is: Electric/Surge/None (sort of a weird default if you ask me)
The other option is: Electric over Hydraulic

I'm assuming the default is the right choice, but the TT definitely should not have surge brakes, and it does have brakes, so not "None", seems weird to throw "electric" into that same default, but the TT has Electric Drum brakes as far as I know. I'm guessing EOH brakes are so niche and specific that a manufacturer would specify it had EOH brakes???

TIA!

Towing noob here - I'm renting a small travel trailer soon, and so I've set it up in my truck based on specs (Amerilite 199DD). It's all fairly straight forward but I'm not sure on what Trailer Brake Type I should input into the system:

Default is: Electric/Surge/None (sort of a weird default if you ask me)
The other option is: Electric over Hydraulic

I'm assuming the default is the right choice, but the TT definitely should not have surge brakes, and it does have brakes, so not "None", seems weird to throw "electric" into that same default, but the TT has Electric Drum brakes as far as I know. I'm guessing EOH brakes are so niche and specific that a manufacturer would specify it had EOH brakes???

TIA!
Default, it's almost certainly a basic electric drum setup.

You'll be able to tell pretty quickly if it has a fluid reservoir when you pick it up, and also the surge brake coupler if that's the case.

Default, it's almost certainly a basic electric drum setup.

You'll be able to tell pretty quickly if it has a fluid reservoir when you pick it up, and also the surge brake coupler if that's the case.